Northeast Indiana players, coach among the first wave of Indiana All-Star participants announced

Garrett coach Bob Lapadot looks on during February 12, 2022’s Regional title game against Benton Central at Bellmont.

On Thursday, the IBCA announced some of the first waves of Indiana All-Star coaches and competitors on the girls side.

Garrett head coach Bob Lapadot will be an assistant on the senior All-Star team. Lapadot will join the staff of Penn coach Kristi Ulrich for the three games the Indiana All-Stars will play.

Listed in the IBCA’s release, Lapadot is 193-91 in 12 years as the Garrett coach, including a 14-12 record with a sectional title this season. His Railroaders have won three sectionals, one regional, four conference titles (two Allen County Athletic Conference, two Northeast Corner Conference) and posted an undefeated regular season at 20-0 in 2013-14. He served as head coach of the 2022 girls’ Junior All-Stars.

Two players have already been announced for the area as well as the All-Star events have added a “Futures” game that will feature players from 21 different schools.

The Futures Games, one each for boys and girls, are a new aspect of the Indiana All-Star basketball program. The Futures Games will pair teams of current Indiana freshmen, sophomores and juniors in a North-South format. The first Futures Games will be played Saturday, June 10 at Gainbridge Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. The girls’ game is set for noon, and the boys’ game will follow about 2:00 p.m. The Indiana All-Stars will host the Kentucky senior All-Stars later the same day in Gainbridge Fieldhouse.

The North futures team will include Snider junior Jordyn Poole and Columbia City sophomore Addison Baxter.

The following is from the IBCA’s release on the futures game:

Juniors Lauren Foster and Faith Wiseman of Indian Creek, freshmen Lola Lampley and Aniyah McKenzie of Lawrence Central as well as junior Reagan Wilson and sophomore Meredith Tippner of Noblesville each has been selected to the South team for the inaugural girls’ Futures Game.

Those six players will be joined by Zionsville junior Emma Haan, Mooresville junior Rachel Harshman, Mt. Vernon (Fortville) junior Ellery Minch, Southridge sophomore Avah Montgomery, Bedford North Lawrence junior Chloe Spreen and Jennings County junior Juliann Woodard to complete the South team.

The North team features one player from 12 schools. The North lineup includes Valparaiso freshman Lilliann Barnes, Columbia City sophomore Addison Baxter, Twin Lakes sophomore Addison Bowsman, Brownsburg sophomore Avery Gordon, Carroll (Flora) junior Alli Harness, Fishers junior Talia Harris, Hamilton Southeastern sophomore Maya Makalusky, Fort Wayne Snider junior Jordyn Poole, Hamiton Heights junior Camryn Runner, South Bend Washington sophomore Kira Reynolds, West Lafayette junior Adrianne Tolen and Crown Point junior Ava Ziolkowski.

 Kristi Sigler of Jennings County is the head coach and Brian Smith of Loogootee is the assistant coach for the South team. Matt Stone of Wabash is the head coach and Lisa Finn of Indianapolis Cathedral is the assistant coach for the North team. Sigler is 94-74 in seven seasons at Jennings County. Smith is 119-76 in eight seasons at Loogootee. Stone is 123-90 in nine seasons at Wabash. Finn is 51-45 in four seasons at Cathedral.

Players and coaches for the All-Star Futures Games are picked by a Futures Games committee chaired by Broughton. Players who are juniors also are eligible for selection to the 2023 Indiana Junior All-Stars that will be selected later by an Indiana Basketball Coaches Association committee chaired by Brandon Bradley of Kankakee Valley.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply