All-NE8 girls basketball teams named

The Northeast 8 Conference has announced their 2018-2019 all-conference teams for girls basketball, Outside the Huddle learned Tuesday morning.

The voting for All-NE8 is done by conference coaches with the 10 highest vote getters named to the first team, the next 10 to the second team and any player receiving votes from two or more schools is named Honorable Mention.

The NE8 champions Bellmont has five total players named All-NE8. Bellmont was the lone NE8 team to make a Sectional final before falling short against Marion on Monday.

Bellmont’s All-NE8 First Team members are Grace Hunter, Kenzie McMahon and Meghan Buisck. They are joined on the first team by Norwell’s Aubrey Dunnuck, Kaylee Fuelling and Maiah Shelton, Leo’s Hannah Adams, Columbia City’s Carly Mabie and Olivia Shearer and Huntington North’s Madalyn Robrock.

Hunter is All-NE8 first team for the third straight year while Dunnuck, McMahon, Shearer and Robrock are all on the first team for their second consecutive season.

Only four first team players — Hunter, Robrock, Adams and Dunnuck — are seniors.

The All-NE8 Second Team includes Bellmont’s Emma Keane and Morgan Shifferly, Norwell’s Lauren Bales and Breann Barger, Columbia City’s Gabby Fry and Grace Schrader, East Noble’s Kylie Garton and Carly Turner, Leo’s Cate Steward and DeKalb’s Paige Pettis.

The All-NE8 Honorable Mention group includes Huntington North’s Reece Colclesser, East Noble’s Karly Kirkpatrick and Grace Patton, DeKalb’s Brooke-Destinee Lockwood, Columbia City’s Rebekah Marshall and New Haven’s Kayla Williams.

The future of the Northeast 8 looks strong. Of the 26 girls honored, just six are seniors while eight are juniors, 11 are sophomores and one is a freshman.

Bellmont went unbeaten in conference to win the NE8; their 7-0 record in conference was part of a 21-3 season. Norwell finished 6-1 in the conference with their only loss coming to Bellmont. Behind them in the standings, in order, were Columbia City, Huntington North, Leo, East Noble, DeKalb and New Haven.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply