All-NECC boys basketball teams named

The Northeast Corner Conference voted on their All-Conference selections for boys basketball on Wednesday night, Outside the Huddle has learned.

Conference champion Westview leads the way with four total honorees, including three on the All-NECC First Team.

The All-NECC First Team is headed by Westview’s Charlie Yoder, Elijah Hales and Nick Rensberger while conference runner up Central Noble placed Ridley Zolman and Connor Essegian on the first team.

Joining that group as All-NECC First Team are Angola’s Dyer Ball, Churubusco’s Jackson Paul, Eastside’s Alex Yoder, Fairfield’s Cordell Hofer and Nolan Sharick, Fremont’s Tanner Behnfeldt, Lakeland’s Brayden Bontrager, Prairie Heights’ Mike Perkins and Elijah Malone and West Noble’s Trevor Franklin.

The NECC also named an All-Conference Honorable Mention team. That group consists of Westview’s Josh Hostetler, Central Noble’s Lucas Deck, Angola’s Joel Knox, Churubusco’s Brayton Bonar, Eastside’s Chase Franz, Fairfield’s Peyton Faldoe, Fremont’s Ethan Marten, Garrett’s Kobe Lucarelli, Hamilton’s Marko Stanjocic, Lakeland’s Kole Miller, Prairie Heights’ Garrett Culler and West Noble’s David Flores.

Westview went a perfect 11-0 in the conference this season to claim the title outright after sharing it the past two seasons. Following them in the final NECC standings, in order, were Central Noble, Fairfield, Angola, Prairie Heights, West Noble, Churubusco, Eastside, Lakeland, Fremont, Hamilton and Garrett.

Westview and Angola each won a Sectional title for the second year in a row. They were the NECC’s only postseason title winners.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply