All-SAC boys basketball teams announced

The Summit Athletic Conference released their 2018-19 All-Conference teams on Monday night with multiple teams placing more than one player on the twelve player All-SAC First Team.

Leading the way were the three co-SAC champions Northrop, Homestead and Carroll.

Northrop, the only SAC team to win a Sectional title, placed Sydney Curry and Qualen Pettus on the All-SAC First Team. From Homestead, Luke Goode and Zak Krueger were All-SAC First Team, as were Carroll’s Dan McKeeman and David Ejah.

Joining those six from the co-champion teams on the All-SAC First Team are Snider’s Dillon Duff and Michael Eley, Bishop Dwenger’s Jared Lee and Hayden Smithey, Wayne’s Craig Young and South Side’s JT Langston Jr.

The All-SAC Second Team is Concordia’s Adam Gottschalk and Brayden Pearson, Carroll’s Preston Shearer, Northrop’s Isaac Anderson, Bishop Luers’ Naylon Thompson and Homestead’s Zac Bradtmiller.

Those named All-SAC Honorable Mention are Wayne’s Darius Alexander and Michael Redding, South Side’s Austin Jordan and Kamron Mitchell, Bishop Dwenger’s Brenden Lytle and Bishop Luers’ Jalen Causey.

Homestead, Northrop and Carroll each finished 7-2 in the SAC with the title coming down to the last game of the conference season when Homestead beat Carroll and Bishop Dwenger beat Northrop to force the three way tie. Following the top three in standings were (in order) Snider, Wayne, South Side, Concordia, Bishop Dwenger, Bishop Luers and North Side.

Northrop was the only SAC team to win a Sectional with their win in Class 4A over East Noble. It is the first time since 2011 that there was only one SAC team to win a Sectional. They Bruins draw Class 4A #1 Carmel in the morning game of Regionals.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply